March 17, 2017

ExxonMobil Community Summer Jobs Program

The ExxonMobil Community Summer Jobs Program is one of ExxonMobil’s signature community programs and helps nonprofit organizations across America employ college students for eight weeks each summer. The students receive a paid internship introducing them to a wide variety of community service organizations and giving them hands on experience related to their field of study. Selected nonprofit agencies receive much needed support from students viewed as future community leaders.  Since the program began in 1971 in New York City, the ExxonMobil Foundation has provided more than $19.4 million to support close to 8,000 community summer job internships in 12 states.

Non-profit organizations selected for the program span a wide range of missions, including health, social services, education, arts and emergency assistance. While working with these organizations, interns gain hands on experience related to their career paths, from social work and volunteer coordination to website management and marketing.

Globally, ExxonMobil provides funding to improve basic education, promote women as catalysts for economic development, and combat malaria and other infectious diseases in developing countries. In 2011, together with its employees and retirees, Exxon Mobil Corporation (NYSE:XOM), its divisions and affiliates, and the ExxonMobil Foundation provided $278 million in contributions worldwide, of which $120 million was dedicated to education. Additional information on ExxonMobil’s community partnerships and contributions programs is available at www.exxonmobil.com/community.

ABOUT THE PROGRAM

Since 1998, ExxonMobil has provided over $2.6 million in grants to Houston area nonprofit agencies through the Community Summer Jobs Program.  The program provides full-time college students with an eight-week paid summer internship to assist nonprofit organizations and gain experience at agencies with diverse mission areas.

2017 Agencies:

Alzheimer’s Association – Houston SE TX Chapter www.alz.tex.org
Association for the Advancement of Mexican Americans (AAMA) www.aama.org
Bayou Preservation Association www.bayoupreservation.org
Bel Inizio www.bel-inizio.org
Bo’s Place www.bosplace.org
Child Advocates www.childadvocates.org
Children’s Museum of Houston www.cmhouston.org
Chinese Community Center www.ccchouston.org
Communities in Schools of Houston www.cishouston.org
Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion www.woodlandscenter.org
Discovery Green Conservancy www.discoverygreen.com
Dress for Success Houston www.dfshouston.org
Galveston Bay Foundation www.galvbay.org
H.E.A.R.T. Program, The www.heartprogram.org
Hermann Park www.hermannpark.org
Houston Ballet www.houstonballet.org
Houston Community ToolBank www.houstontoolbank.org
Houston Food Bank www.houstonfoodbank.org
Houston Museum of Natural Science www.hmns.org
Houston Zoo www.houstonzoo.org
Interfaith of the Woodlands www.woodlandsinterfaith.org
Kids Meals kwww.idsmealshouston.org
Memorial Assistance Ministries www.helpherehelpnow.org
Museum of Fine Arts, Houston www.mfah.org
PAIR www.pairhouston.org
Space Center Houston www.spacecenter.org
Star of Hope www.sohmission.org
TWRC Wildlife Center www.twrcwildlifecenter.org
Volunteer Houston  www.volunteerhouston.org
Women’s Home, The www.thewomenshome.org