March 17, 2017

Shell Nonprofit Internship Program

Picture1

The Shell Oil Company Nonprofit Internship Program commenced in Houston, Texas in 2008, and has provided over 200 internship opportunities for college students with local nonprofit agencies.

Volunteer Houston helps connect qualified agencies with college applicants in meaningful positions that meet both the agencies’ needs and the students’ career goals. In addition to the work experience, Shell sponsors and participates in 3 networking events during the program, enabling students from universities in Texas and across the country to learn more about the organization and to network with each other. The program introduces students to careers in nonprofit and the importance of community service.

Agencies are selected based on their work in three key areas of social investment targeted by Shell: education, environment, and community.

ABOUT THE PROGRAM

The Shell Non Profit Internship Program provides an invaluable opportunity for select college students to learn about the nonprofit industry and get real world experience while making an impact in the community.  Agencies are selected based on their work in three key areas of social investment targeted by Shell: education, environment, and community.

 

  1. Association for the Advancement of Mexican Americans (AAMA) www.aama.org
  2. Bayou Bend Collection and Gardens www.mfah.org
  3. Bayou Preservation Association www.bayoupreservation.org
  4. Bo’s Place www.bosplace.org
  5. Children’s Museum of Houston www.cmhouston.org
  6. Chinese Community Center www.ccchouston.org
  7. Citizens’ Environmental Coalition www.cechouston.org
  8. C-STEM Teacher and Student Support Services, Inc. www.cstem.org
  9. Dress for Success Houston www.dfshouston.org
  10. Easter Seals of Greater Houston www.eastersealshouston.org
  11. Financial Mentors of America www.gameofreallife.org
  12. Fresh Arts www.fresharts.org
  13. Galveston Bay Foundation www.galvbay.org
  14. Hermann Park www.hermannpark.org
  15. Holocaust Musuem www.hmh.org
  16. Houston Aphasia Recovery Center www.harctx.org
  17. Houston Community ToolBank www.houstontoolbank.org
  18. Houston Museum of Natural Science www.hmns.org
  19. Interfaith Ministries www.imgh.org
  20. Jewish Family Service www.jfshouston.org
  21. Kids Meals www.kidsmealshouston.org
  22. Literacy Advance of Houston www.literacyadvance.org
  23. Local Initiatives Support Corporation www.lisc.org/houston
  24. M.E.C.A. (Multiculutal Education and Counseling through the Arts) www.meca-houston.org
  25. Memorial Assistance Ministries www.helpherehelpnow.org
  26. Mercer Society www.hcp4.net
  27. Nature Discovery Center www.naturediscoverycenter.org
  28. Next Op Vets www.nextopvets.org
  29. Periwinkle Foundation, The www.periwinklefoundation.org
  30. Rebuilding Together Houston www.rebuildinghouston.org
  31. Rice University – School of Literacy and Culture www.rice.edu
  32. SCA, The www.thesca.org
  33. SIRE Theraputic Houston www.sire-htc.org
  34. Society for the Performing Arts www.spahouston.org
  35. Souper Bowl of Caring souperbowl.org
  36. Trees for Houston treesforhouston.org
  37. Urban Harvest www.urbanharvest.org
  38. Volunteer Houston www.volunteerhouston.org
  39. Wildlife Center of Texas www.wildlifecenteroftexas.org
  40. Writers in the Schools www.witshouston.org